FINTRAC Penalties Tracker: Every Public AMP Since September 2025
Source:FINTRAC's public notices of administrative monetary penalties. Updated September 28, 2026.
View FINTRAC's public notice listFINTRAC has made 36 administrative monetary penalties public since September 2025, totalling about $203M. Two foreign crypto platforms account for almost all of that: Cryptomus at $177M and KuCoin at $19.6M. The other 34 add up to about $7M, and the typical penalty is around $110K.
This page lists every one of them, with what FINTRAC found. We add new notices as FINTRAC publishes them.
what fails most often
Read the notices together and the same few gaps keep coming up. Most of them are about the compliance program on paper, which you can check and fix before an examiner does.
- Written policies and procedures: 29 of 36 penalties. Policies written at registration and never updated, or policies the business doesn't actually follow.
- Risk assessment: 28 of 36. No documented assessment, or one that ignores the prescribed factors.
- Two-year effectiveness review: 15 of 36. The review never happened, or wasn't documented.
- Suspicious transaction reports: 14 of 36. Indicators were present and no report was filed.
- Training program: 7 of 36. No written, ongoing program.
Sound familiar? Policies, risk assessment and training are exactly what your two-year effectiveness review has to test. A named compliance officer keeps them current between reviews.
who gets penalized
Real estate brokerages lead the count with 9, then MSBs with 8, casinos with 6, dealers in precious metals and stones with 4, and banks and credit unions with 3. An accounting firm and a securities dealer make up the rest. Size doesn't protect you either: the list includes a national jewellery chain, two banks and three government-owned gaming corporations.
If you're an MSB, you can check any registration in our FINTRAC MSB search.
every public penalty since september 2025
Newest first. Amounts are as imposed; a penalty under appeal may change. Entity names link to FINTRAC's notice.
| Published | Entity | Sector | Penalty | What FINTRAC found | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-09-24 | Caisse populaire acadienne (UNI Financial Cooperation) | Bank or credit union | $676,500 | Policies, Risk assessment, STRs | Paid |
| 2026-09-24 | Pathwise Credit Union | Bank or credit union | $41,250 | Policies, Risk assessment | Paid |
| 2026-09-24 | Your Neighbourhood Credit Union | Bank or credit union | $16,500 | Policies | Paid |
| 2026-09-24 | Caisse Alliance | Bank or credit union | $82,500 | Policies, Risk assessment, High-risk measures, Two-year review | Paid |
| 2026-09-03 | New Brunswick Lotteries and Gaming Corporation | Casino | $399,712.50 | STRs | Paid |
| 2026-09-03 | Nova Scotia Gaming Corporation | Casino | $231,826 | Policies, Risk assessment, STRs | Paid |
| 2026-07-09 | VIP Realty (Royal LePage Integrity Realty) | Real estate | $33,000 | Two-year review | Paid |
| 2026-07-09 | Atlantic Lottery Corporation | Casino | $212,025 | Policies, Risk assessment, STRs | Paid |
| 2026-05-14 | Necosmart (13010431 Canada Inc.) (our analysis) | MSB | $693,742.50 | Policies, Risk assessment, STRs, High-risk measures, Records | Not stated |
| 2026-05-05 | Birks Group | Precious metals and stones | $51,562.50 | Policies, Risk assessment, Two-year review | Under appeal |
| 2026-05-05 | RE/MAX Twin City Realty | Real estate | $24,750 | Risk assessment | Paid |
| 2026-05-05 | VersaBank | Bank or credit union | $42,075 | Policies, High-risk measures | Paid |
| 2026-03-26 | Northern Isga Foundation | Casino | $91,162.50 | Policies, Risk assessment, Two-year review, Training | Under appeal |
| 2026-02-12 | Manor Windsor Realty | Real estate | $107,250 | Policies, Risk assessment, Two-year review, Training | Under appeal |
| 2026-02-10 | Century 21 Heritage Group | Real estate | $148,912.50 | STRs | Under appeal |
| 2026-02-05 | Commerciale I.C. - Pacific | MSB | $224,235 | Policies, Risk assessment, Two-year review, Other reports, Ministerial directive | Under appeal |
| 2026-02-05 | TreasureMeta (Cappo FX) | MSB | $24,750 | Registration | Not stated |
| 2025-12-18 | MP Technology Services (MoonPay) | MSB | $536,853.35 | Policies, Risk assessment, STRs, Other reports | Under appeal |
| 2025-12-11 | Juba Express | MSB | $67,150 | Policies, Risk assessment, Other reports, Registration | Under appeal |
| 2025-12-04 | Griffin Jewellery Designs | Precious metals and stones | $77,137.50 | Policies, Risk assessment, Two-year review | Paid |
| 2025-12-02 | Global Currency Exchange (2294235 Ontario) | MSB | $70,537.50 | Policies, Risk assessment, Two-year review, Training, Records, Document request | Not stated |
| 2025-11-27 | Synergy Credit Union | Bank or credit union | $214,500 | Policies, Risk assessment, STRs, High-risk measures | Paid |
| 2025-11-20 | Houston & Associates Realty | Real estate | $117,975 | Policies, Risk assessment, Two-year review, Training, Records | Appeal settled |
| 2025-11-20 | HomeLife New World Realty | Real estate | $36,135 | Policies, Risk assessment, Records | Paid |
| 2025-11-20 | Pacesetter Marketing | Real estate | $41,085 | Policies, Risk assessment, Two-year review | Paid |
| 2025-11-20 | LeHomes Realty Premier (1135233 B.C.) | Real estate | $149,886 | Policies, Risk assessment, STRs, Training, Records, Compliance officer | Paid |
| 2025-11-20 | Star Realty (9321-0599 Québec) | Real estate | $23,100 | Policies, Risk assessment | Under appeal |
| 2025-10-22 | Cryptomus (Xeltox Enterprises) | MSB | $176,960,190 | Policies, Risk assessment, STRs, Other reports, Registration, Ministerial directive | Under appeal |
| 2025-10-16 | First Nations Bank of Canada | Bank or credit union | $601,139.80 | Policies, Risk assessment, STRs, High-risk measures | Paid |
| 2025-10-09 | DMCL Chartered Professional Accountants | Accountant | $72,750 | Policies, Risk assessment, Two-year review | Paid |
| 2025-10-02 | HRA Group Holdings (our analysis) | Precious metals and stones | $132,000 | Policies, Risk assessment, Two-year review, Training | Paid |
| 2025-09-25 | KuCoin (Peken Global) | MSB | $19,552,000 | STRs, Other reports, Registration | Under appeal |
| 2025-09-23 | Spence Diamonds | Precious metals and stones | $264,000 | Policies, Risk assessment, Two-year review, STRs, Training | Paid |
| 2025-09-18 | Primary Capital | Securities dealer | $93,390 | Policies, Risk assessment, Two-year review, High-risk measures | Paid |
| 2025-09-12 | Saskatchewan Indian Gaming Authority (SIGA) | Casino | $1,175,000 | Policies, STRs | Under appeal |
| 2025-09-04 | CNE Casino (our analysis) | Casino | $199,000 | Risk assessment, Two-year review | Under appeal |
check your own program this week
- Open your policies and find the date they were last updated. If it predates your last change in services, products or delivery channels, they're out of date.
- Confirm your risk assessment is written down and covers the prescribed factors: clients, products, geography, delivery channels and new technology.
- Find the report from your last two-year effectiveness review. No report means no review, as far as FINTRAC is concerned.
- Pull three recent unusual transactions and check each one has either an STR or a written reason for not filing.
If any of those come up empty, that's the gap an examiner will find first. Talk to us before they do.